Posted by: angelasommers | August 31, 2008

I’ve been tagged!

All right, so you get the idea that life does change a lot when you have to take coumadin.  That’s ok.  Change is good, right?  Change is necessary, right?   Grandmaster Tae Yun Kim herself says so in her book “The Silent Master“:

“You must be willing to change.  You must be willing to become a new person, a different person.  And you must be willing to give up old concepts of yourself even before you see your new qualities.  The autumn leaves must fall before spring can bring new growth.”

 Wearing a medical bracelet seems like such a minor thing, right?  I mean, compared to what I had been through, that little bracelet was nothing!  But somehow that seemed to be my last straw.  Was my doctor taking away my last little piece of human dignity?  Was this like tagging me like cattle?  Or did he think I was retarded and couldn’t remember the information on that tag ?  Of course not.  Patiently he explained that should I pass out, this tag will help the medical personnel greatly to know what to do.  No, I wasn’t a dog or cattle.  This was simply something very useful and very good – to help the helpers keep me alive and well in an emergency. 

Thank goodness for his reassurance.  Still, I guess I needed a “second opinion” on this and I went to Grandmaster Tae Yun Kim.  To her it was all simple of course.  There was no question.  Just do it!  She also pointed out that sometimes its the little things in life that make people eventually stumble and fall.  The big things are obvious and don’t need to be pointed out.

Leave a Reply

Categories

