Posted by: angelasommers | February 21, 2012

You and the Life Force are One!

In her first book, “Seven Steps to Inner Power,”  Great Grandmaster Tae Yun Kim writes about the six Silent Master Images.  Over the years, I have of course been thinking about these a lot, and today, image II really caught my attention:

“You and the Life Force are One”

Your Silent Master Consciousness was born out of the infinite Life Force creating and animating the universe.  You exist as a part of the Universe; therefore, it is the Life Force creating and animating you  it is the power that beats your heart.  Because you are this Consciousness, whatever qualities the Life Force possesses, you possess also.

Since I have been on coumadin, I have obviously had my struggles with that – being a Martial Artist and not being able to sparr fully, not able to really do much breaking, was hard to accept at first.  I mean, if I am one with the Life Force, why can’t I do everything?  With a smile, Great Grandmaster Tae Yun Kim explained that this does of course NOT mean you are all of a sudden some sort of super hero.

Instead, Great Grandmaster Tae Yun Kim has helped me focus on all that is positive in my life, and there is so much to be grateful for!  I do count my blessings every day!

One of these blessings is being married to a fellow Martial Artist, who also trains under Grandmaster Tae Yun Kim.  He personifies Grandmaster Kim’s teachings, and the following video really jumped at me today, together with Grandmaster Tae Yun Kim’s Silent Master Image:

You and the Life Force are One!

http://youtu.be/X68F9NK3x7s

Doesn’t this break really illustrate that concept?

Enjoy, and know that you and the life force are truly one!  All we have to do is tap into it!

Responses

  1. Hello Sean, thanks for leaving a comment!

    As for sparring, after some experiences, I am strictly “no contact.” It is too difficult and unpredictable to know what “light contact” means to people, and what exactly my INR is at any given moment.
    One time, while I still tried the “light contact” thing – I got hit in the kidney area and even though it didn’t feel like much of anythings, I ended up with an internal bleed.
    I personally would recommend no contact. Yes, I do spar, but I keep my distance.
    Protective gear helps some, but the impact is still there. I would recommend wearing it.
    Everyone at Jung Suwon, where I train, now knows that I am on coumadin and that therefore I can’t handle being hit. When there are any newcomers, I explain to them before hand, so they don’t have any questions as to why at my level, I don’t do full on sparring.
    I am also not afraid to stop during sparring if someone gets carried away or forgets, to remind them.

    What is just a simple light contact to some, or an honest mistake, could cost my life, so yes, I am pretty serious about it.

    Good luck with your training, discover all the differect aspects of the Martial Arts, and most of all, have a great time doing it!

    I wish you all the best!

  2. I am a Tae Kwon Do Martial Artist that is on Coumadin as well. I am fairly new to taking the drug and a bit nervous. Do you spar? How far do you go with regards to contact?

    Do you wear protective gear?


Leave a Reply

Categories

