Posted by: angelasommers | March 6, 2012

Belt ceremony at Jung Suwon and a reminder

We had an incredible Belt Ceremony last night at Jung Suwon.  Rather than just handing out belts, Great Grandmaster Tae Yun Kim holds a very special ceremony, where the newly promoted students get to state their goals and what they will focus on from now on.  Then, they get to light a candle, to light up their goals and letting them shine out into the world.  Those moments are some of the most precious to me, at Jung Suwon.

I always marvel at the smaller children.  Through Great Grandmaster Tae Yun Kim’s training, they are encouraged to express themselves, and that is just what they did last night!  One of the 6-year old boys said, who had just received his orange belt, said that he wanted to be more focused, and that he also wanted to be a blackbelt some day!

But I think Great Grandmaster Kim was especially proud of a 10-year old student, who stated as his goal that he wanted to take care of his father who was in Afghanistan for several months and to make sure he had always shelter and food over there.  Many Jung Suwon students and parents alike had tears in their eyes listening to such beautiful words.

I have noticed that I haven’t written much lately about the “coumadin” factor in my training.  I guess that is because it is so much a part of my life I don’t even think about it anymore.  Which can be dangerous, and not too long ago I was reminded that I need to be much more aware of this, and respect it.  Coumadin is real, and its effects are real.

What happened was that during a very special and wonderful class at Jung Suwon, that I was not about to miss, we had some stretching exercises, and I went too far.  I tend to do that.  And although Great Grandmaster Tae Yun Kim always wants us to be aware of and take care of our physical challenges, I didn’t.

This time it had consequences.  I snapped my hamstring.  I knew better than to push this hard, but I did anyways.  It wasn’t so bad, until I got home and realized that when you are on coumadin, you better respect that fact.  My entire leg had turned black and blue from the blood from the tear in the hamstring.  No kidding, it was the entire leg.  I had to think about one of Great Grandmaster Tae Yun Kim’s favorite sayings, “Rejoice in the lesson of pain and hurt, they give you strength, they give you freedom!”  Grandmaster Kim also tells us, “If you don’t like pain, if you don’t like to get hurt, you are on the wrong planet!”

Of course she is right.  And of course, thank goodness, it was only the leg.  Pain, yes, but serious condition, no.

Great Grandmaster Tae Yun Kim always encourages us to learn from every situation life has to offer, and learn from it.  I realized that I must never let myself get carried away like that.  This time it was “only” a hamstring tear.  I can not allow myself to become careless like that.

Leave a Reply

Categories

