Posted by: angelasommers | March 14, 2012

It’s all in the attitude!

 

Last night at Jung Suwon, Great Grandmaster Tae Yun Kim started class by saying, “its all in the attitude!  Who would want to be around you if you have a lousy attitude?  What kind of attitude do you want to have? Would you want to be with someone who is a complainer and has a sour face all the time?”

Great Grandmaster Tae Yun Kim then related the experience of Chief Master Polen.  Here is what he said:

“In the beginning years of my training, I was impatient and sometimes had a poor attitude.  One time, at Jung Suwon, after learning back kick, and me not being able to do it properly, I was very frustrated.  I kept trying and trying, and at the end of class I still couldn’t do it right.  I stomped into the change room and kept muttering to myself, how frustrated I was.  Then my fellow warrior, came in, in his wheel chair.  Cheerfully he asked what the issue was.  “I just can’t do a back kick right!”  “Neither can I”  was his response.  Whow!  that sure set me straight and my attitude improved incredibly!”

Attitude, no matter whether in the Jung Suwon Dojang, or in the workplace, or school or home, is so important!  Great Grandmaster Tae Yun Kim emphasizes that whatever we do, wherever we do it, do it with the right mind!

“Right mind, right view, right attitude!”, Great Grandmaster Kim says, “Have a positive mental attitude!”

I have learned through my training at Jung Suwon, that it really doesn’t matter what physical condition I am in – as long as my mental condition is right and my attitude is right.  Great Grandmaster Tae Yun Kim has taught me that Martial Art is so much more than just the phsysical aspect.  Sure, I am on coumadin and cannot really spar, or do most breakings.  But so what?  It is my personal choice what I do in my life, Great Grandmaster Tae Yun Kim always says, and it is up to me to live my life to the fullest!

HE CAN DO, SHE CAN DO, WHY NOT ME!

Example of a “good attitude Jung Suwon warrior:”

Leave a Reply

Categories

