Posted by: angelasommers | April 16, 2012

Reality check

Not sure I mentioned that I have had plantar fasciitis in my right foot for over a year.  This has slowed me down at Jung Suwon as you can imagine, as it is quite painful.  No running, limited kicking, not being able to do proper stances, and so forth.

Great Grandmaster Tae Yun Kim has been very encouraging and understanding with this and has given me wonderful advice as to what to do.  Finally, after almost a year, it was getting clear that it wasn’t getting any better.  Great Grandmaster Tae Yun Kim even went so far as to recommend me to her doctor, who sent me on to Dr. Lehnert, in my eyes, the best foot doctor ever.

After 6 months of trying other measure, including wearing a boot for 8 weeks,

Great Grandmaster Tae Yun Kim suggested I look into surgery, so I can once again work out at Jung Suwon like I yearn to!

However, since I am on coumadin, that makes things a bit more complicated.  I had pulmonary emboli a few years ago, so in order to avoid a repeat, I had to give myself shots twice a day, while I wasn’t taking the coumadin.  But, I am a Jung Suwon warrior and I want to get back into action – so nothing will get in my way!

Last Thursday, a wonderful fellow Jung Suwon warrior took me to the surgery center, and before I knew it, I came back out, looking like this:

and as of today, I am back in the boot!

As you can imagine, I so much look forward to going to Jung Suwon, and work out hard!

Leave a Reply

Categories

