Posted by: angelasommers | August 18, 2012

Hilarious hospital misunderstanding

I promised I would tell you what happened, when I was getting the steroid shot in my foot.  But before I do that, check out this video.  This is one of the many reasons I really want to get my foot all healed and well again, in a hurry!

Because I have had problems with my right foot for over a year now, and because I really want to be back in Jung Suwon class, all the way and not just partially, Great Grandmaster Tae Yun Kim advised I should go back to Dr. Lehnert and get “the shot.”

Dr. Lehnert understands that I am a Jung Suwon warrior, and that I need my foot in best working order – so he told me that he had to give me the shot in the clinic, because it had to be very precisely targeted.

So far, so good.

I happily drove to the clinic, where they asked me when was the last time I ate anything, and who was going to drive me home.

Huh?

I told them I was here only for a shot in the foot, that’s it.  No surgery.  No problem they said, and proceeded to put a tag on me, listing my allergies, and then they asked me to take off my clothes and put on a hopsital gown.

Huh?

I told them again that I was only here for a shot in the foot, not a surgery.  No problem, they said, and had me lay down on a cot and fill out all kinds of paperwork.  Then a nurse came by and wanted to give me an IV.

Huh?

I told them that I was only here for a shot in the foot, not a surgery.  No problem, they said, give m your arm for the IV.

No way!

I asked them to go and check with the doctor, and thankfully he confirmed, no IV necessary.  Then they told me they would wheel me into the surgery room.

Huh?

I can walk, I told them – I am only here for a shot!  Why would I need to go into an operating room?  They told me that that’s where the equipment was that the doctor needed and no, I may not walk.  Rules are rules.

Sigh.

They lifted me from the cot to the operating table!

Huh?

I need to lay still, they said, so the doctor can do his job.  They gave me an injection, so they could give me another injection.

Then they asked me again, who was going to take me home.

Huh?

Myself, I told them.  Finally, after some back and forth, they said ok, and let me get dressed, and I was ready to go home.

Great Grandmaster Tae Yun Kim was laughing when she heard my story.  “And what did you learn from this?”, she asked.

I certainly learned, that ignorance is NOT bliss, and that a little information about what is going to happen to you in a clinic, goes a long way!

Responses

  1. Reblogged this on Self Discovery as a Jung Su Won Warrior.


Leave a Reply

Categories

