Posted by: angelasommers | November 4, 2012

Pain does not kill you

Yes, that is right.  You may not like what you are about to read, but give it a chance.  Great Grandmaster Tae Yun Kim, my very wise and so very experienced Master, has taught me this:

Pain does not kill.  Sometimes, what causes the pain, can kill if you don’t fix it.  But pain itself is just a sensation, a feeling, and something not pleaseant.  So, when before or during a hard Jung Suwon class you feel pain, when you get hit a bit during sparring, when you get pushed beyond what you think you can handle, when you emotions tell you to give up, but your inner warrior tells you to keep going – do yourself a favor and keep going.

Don’t let the little aches and pains hold you back.  Don’t even let bigger pains chain you down.

To be sure:  Obviously, if you have a broken bone, you don’t want to keep working out until it’s healed.  Likewise, if your arteries are seriously clogged and you are in danger of a heart attack, don’t do anything until you take care of your condition first.  You need to know – or let your doctor help you know – when it is a serious condition or not.

But when your general health is good, and bones are healthy – come to Jung Suwon class, or work out as best you can.  Push yourself.

Most of the time, your body just needs to get back into the habit of moving, and move regularly.  Give it a try!  See how you feel!

If you have been following this blog you know that I have had foot problems for over a year now, and I have been very careful in working out, and I have even gone through periods of not working out at all.  But the rest of my body does not like this and has been coming up with all kinds of aches and pains that I never used to have.

Great Grandmaster Tae Yun Kim simply recommended I go to class.  So, I am back in class, and I do whatever I am able to and striving to do more.  I can’t say I am painfree, but I can say that generally speaking, I feel a lot better when I am moving and doing.

My life as a Jung Suwon warrior is great and always full of action and excitement.  I am going to train, no matter what!

HE CAN DO, SHE CAN DO, WHY NOT ME!

Leave a Reply

Categories

