Posted by: angelasommers | April 10, 2013

My favorite places to train

2013-01-27 17.08.12

There is no question that I love to train wherever I am.  I love our DoJang – it’s home!  It’s home base and it’s where I started to train and where I go very frequently.

But, as Great Grandmaster Tae Yun Kim points out, the entire world can be our DoJang!  I have always been an outdoors person, but I really got into loving to train Martial Arts outdoors was during Self Discovery weekends.  Great Grandmaster Tae Yun Kim used to hold these weekends in a beautiful redwood forest near the Northern California coast, and she brought us in contact with the land, with the pure energy from earth, trees, air, and all the wonderful energy that nature has to offer.

2013-01-27 17.07.50

Among the trees, I learned about Ki energy, about channeling this energy and using it, and so much more!  I learned that martial Arts really is about body, mind, and spirit, all together in total harmony.

2012-11-25 09.04.13

So, every opportunity I get, I go to the great outdoors, and work out right there!

2013-01-27 17.06.54

If you aren’t already training outdoors once in a while – give it a chance!  You will be surprised how energized you will feel, how rejuvenated, and just how much better you will be able to perform your moves!

2013-01-27 17.18.21

2013-01-27 17.23.43

Invariably, during and after training outdoors, I think about these words, that Great Grandmaster Tae Yun Kim wrote in her book, “The Silent Master:”

“You live in a wonderful time called now.  In this moment, everything true about you is waiting to be recognized and expressed.  Everything in the past is gone.  Tomorrow will never come.  There is always only now.  You can take charge, take action, and create freedom for yourself!”

Leave a Reply

Categories

