Posted by: angelasommers | June 17, 2013

Excuses are a senseless waste of energy

Today, I want to put it out all into the open.  Today, no excuses will survive!

If you have been following this blog, you know that I had foot surgery recently, and am on crutches for 3 more weeks.  I have the perfect excuse for a lot of things, right?

Wrong!  As this blog title says it all – Excuses are a senseless waste of energy!  My Martial Arts teacher, Great Grandmaster Tae Yun Kim has a lot to say about this.

Just because I am physically unable to go and train hard in my favorite places, such as these

training area in fog.MTS.Still004

training area in fog.MTS.Still002

does not mean I should stay in bed and sleep more!

Ok, so the first week after surgery, I did do just that.  It does take some time for all the anesthesia and assorted drugs to get out of your system.

But after that week, I realized that I was just being lazy and making excuses.  It’s only my foot that is incapacitated, but not my brain, not my hands, arms, etc.

So, at 5:30 am every day, when I would normally get up and work out here

more training area in fog.MTS.Still002

and here

more training area in fog.MTS.Still001

I get up, walk around on my crutches, do upper body workouts and after getting cleaned up, get right to work on my computer.  No excuses!

Here are the exact words of Great Grandmaster Tae Yun Kim about excuses – lets all read and take them to heart!

“You make an excuse because somehow you think this is  more beneficial than being honest with yourself or someone else.  Most excuses are fueled by the belief that you can’t do what you know you should.  No such thing!  Be aware that I can’t usually means I could, but I won’t.  For example, I can’t work any harder to get this promotion might mean I could work harder, but I won’t because I am too lazy.

People have a problem with their self concept, not with their capability.  So, if you find yourself saying, I can’t, examine this statement very closely!  It rarely means I am not able, and your Silent Master is prepared to boost you and support you towards realizing any true desire you have.  Most of the time, you can!  You will just have to persevere with continued effort!” (The First Element, pages 132, 133)

HE CAN DO, SHE CAN DO, WHY NOT ME!

Leave a Reply

Categories

