Posted by: angelasommers | July 7, 2013

The benefits of Jung Suwon training off the training floor

Mills Penninsula hospital

As you know, I have been through some serious foot surgery recently.  And while of course I haven’t been able to do a lot of my regular workout routine, I have been able to adjust and still work out.

However, in this post, I will talk more about the mental aspects of training.  The power of controlling my environment, as Great Grandmaster Tae Yun Kim has taught me to do.

When I first came out of surgery, all was actually very well.  I was so “drugged up” that I thankfully didn’t feel anything.  I was a bit sleepy, but otherwise, all was well.

2013-07-07 syringe

However, around 2:00 am I woke up and felt the pain!  We are not talking a little discomfort here.  We are talking the combined pain of several surgeries in one foot.  I did what the nurse told me, and pushed the call button.  Nothing happened.  I pushed again, and again, nothing happened.  I tried the call button on the other side of the bed, and again, nothing.  I started pushing all kinds of buttons and yelling out.  Nothing happened.  The pain was approaching a level that it was hard to control with meditation and so I needed attention.

Great Grandmaster Tae Yun Kim has taught me to be the driver in my life, not a passenger!  To drive through life, not drift through it.  “Take charge,” she always encourages me.

iv bag hanging on a metal pole

Through my brain fog I remembered that if there is anything wrong with the IV, it will make a sound and a nurse will come.  So I made a kink in the IV line, and sure enough, after 10 seconds a loud alarm went off and 10 seconds later a nurse came running!  Whew!

Another example is that I realized very quickly that while I was able to tolerate the pain medication through IV, I had some nasty reaction to the different medication given orally – I was having intense, and horrible hallucinations.  Still, through all this, Great Grandmaster Tae Yun Kim’s voice rang through very powerfully.  “Nobody can make you do anything, unless you allow it.  Nobody can hypnotize you unless you allow it.  You have the power in you, it is your personal choice!”

Variety of Drugs, Pills, Supplements, and Medication
And so, when the hallucination had started, I looked at the mental picture and said, “You are not real.  In reality, such things never happen.  Stay away from me!  And I quickly learned that I was able to control these hallucinations and make them stop.

I didn’t have to be a victim!

And while punching and kicking are very important aspects of the Martial Arts, it is so much more than just that!

HE CAN DO, SHE CAN DO, WHY NOT ME!

Leave a Reply

Categories

