Posted by: angelasommers | July 16, 2013

A little progress every day

Foot surgery is not for the faint of heart or for the squeamish. It’s no fun before, during or after.  Especially 6 weeks after when you think you can run and jump and find out otherwise.  I had been so looking forward to being in Jung Suwon class with Great Grandmaster Tae Yun Kim!

2012-11-19 20.27.26

At first, I couldn’t understand it.  I mean, 6 weeks after surgery, in the cast, I was feeling pretty good.  No pain except when my foot was swelling too much inside the cast.

But I was quite unprepared for this.  The doctor’s assistant reassured me that it is very normal to have pain, and a lot of it.  She put it quite bluntly:

“Well, the doctor cut your heel bone in half and then slid the pieces apart, and put a big screw in it, plus he did a few more procedures in your foot – what do you expect  You haven’t put any weight on it for 6 weeks, so yes, it will hurt.!”

Right.

Then I was dumb enough to ask, “My husband had both hips replaced, and each time he was encouraged to walk the day after – so why can’t I walk right after surgery?  That just about sent the PA into outer space, laughing so hard.  Finally she said that you cannot even compare, because hips are, well, hips, and it is entirely different surgery than what I had done to my foot.

What does Great Grandmaster Tae Yun Kim say about this?

“Physical Training is overcoming limitations.  Your training can be a feedback system, letting you now where you stand in taking control your mind and body.”

That’s right!  I can take control.  It is my choice – am I going to let this pain get me, or am I going to overcome it?  Who is going to win this battle?

I AM!

HE CAN DO, SHE CAN DO, WHY NOT ME!

Responses

  1. I love your empowerment! Woohoo!

    • Thank you very much! Glad you stopped by my blog, and I think yours is great, just checked it out.

      • Thanks so much! I love everything you’ve addressed too 🙂

      • Thanks again!


Leave a Reply

Categories

