Posted by: angelasommers | July 20, 2013

When “This is not supposed to happen” happens

2013-07-20 14.24.19

Yes, that is me, icing my foot.  Almost 2 months (yes, you are reading right, months!) after surgery, and I have an infection!  How is this even possible?

2013-07-20 ice-2

I was lucky though.  Great Grandmaster Tae Yun Kim has taught me to take charge of my life, and so I have been watching my foot closely.  I noticed the incredible swelling, that made my foot appear almost twice its normal size.  It was also reddish/pink instead of the pale color of my other foot, plus it felt much warmer.  Even after icing.  When I told my doctor, he immediately called me to come to his office, and I came out with a prescription for antibiotics, and with the admonition to ice the foot frequently, keep it elevated, and wear compression stockings.

2013-07-20 14.24.44

I am sure you can imagine that I wasn’t too happy.  But, at least, it was caught before anything worse could happen!

To help me understand all this, and help me to not stress out, I love to read Great Grandmaster Tae Yun Kim‘s words:

“Pain, distress, and physical illness are manifestations of our own energy.  That’s why they are an inevitable part of life.  Instead of being defeated, crushed, or disillusioned about these things, allow them to at least teach you something.  Why endure pain for nothing?  Since you are going to encounter it, and since it’s your own energy, make it serve you!” (The First Element, page 115)

Responses

  1. It is actually a nice and useful piece of info. I’m satisfied that you shared this useful information with us. Please keep us informed like this. Thank you for sharing.

  2. Angela, you have the most amazing attitude, but I’m so sorry this happened, dear. Sending HUGE healing hugs to you!!

    xo,
    Shirley

    • Awww, thanks so much for the love and hugs! I am doing much better and don’t need crutches anymore 🙂 🙂 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

