Posted by: angelasommers | August 13, 2013

Past, present, future

Since my foot surgery, I have been thinking a lot more about my Jung Suwon Martial Arts training.

I think about just how much Great Grandmaster Tae Yun Kim has helped me overcome so many obstacles in my life, and opened up possibilities I never even knew existed.

Here is me, as a white belt, just about a month into training, in 1984, and many many years before I had to start taking Coumadin.

EAs white belt sitting down VT copy

I had been at a very low in my life.  Although on the outside I seemed to live the American dream – graduated from a prestigious college with honors, was married, had 2 beautiful children, had a big home, garden, land – but as most of us know, earthly tangible possessions do not make one happy.  I had reached every goal I had set until then, and I would like awake at night, looking at the ceiling, wondering if that was all there was to life.  I was miserable, and didn’t have much of a purpose.

When I first met Great Grandmaster Tae Yun Kim, I didn’t have any idea what Martial Art even was…all I have ever seen was advertisements for C-rated movies with bad lip sync.

But this was different.  Great Grandmaster Kim made me feel loved, valued, and precious from day one, and helped me overcome all my issues, and started to bring out the best in me.

Eas base form 3 1986 copy

She explained that she didn’t give me anything that I didn’t already have inside – she said like a diamond hidden in a lot of rubble and stone, I had to be dug out, polished for a long time, but the diamond was there and needed to shine.

It has been a very long, very wonderful, also hard, tough, and highly challenging journey, and through the good times and hard times I have learned so much!  And yes, there have been many hard, tough, almost impossible times.  But it has been totally, completely worth it.

http://youtu.be/4XrcXgY659w

This short video means a lot to me – I was so very shy before my training, and the thought of breaking bricks scared me no end.  And yet, look what Great Grandmaster Kim has accomplished.

Of course, the journey is never done.  That is the beauty of it.  It keeps going on and I will keep on training, learning, discovering, growing.  I love my life and am deeply grateful for my teacher and Master, Great Grandmaster Tae Yun Kim.

Jung Su!

See the transformation!

http://youtu.be/CnqUApA07CY

Responses

  1. nice post, thanks for the informations.! http://thebestfighter.blogspot.com/

    • Thank you, you have a great blog!

  2. Reblogged this on Unlock the Sources of Your Inner Power.


Leave a Reply

Categories

